The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Yanmar verses Cummins
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> All Rangers, All The Time
View previous topic :: View next topic  
IdleUp

City/Region: Smith Mountain Lake
State or Province: VA
C-Dory Model: R-25 Tug
Vessel Name: Linda Sue
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:05 pm    Post subject: Yanmar verses Cummins Reply with quote

I studied both engines and I found they are somewhat comparable with regard to quality - what is the general opinion of the Yanmar 4JH3-HTE 100hp FWC Diesel Engine and the new Cummins QSD 2.0L 130 HP electronically-controlled diesel other than power. Is either any quieter than the other - and what is the average speed of the two engines.

I found a used R25 with the Yanmar 100 hp.

Thanks

My Other Hobbies:
www.rotory.com - www.bigpickup.com

thataway

City/Region: Pensacola
State or Province: FL
C-Dory Year: 2007
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruiser
Vessel Name: thataway
Photos: Thataway
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Yanmar engine specs along with power graphs are at: http://www.yanmarmarine.com/
The Cummins engine specs are at:
http://marine.cummins.com/mrn/public_cummins/home

The boat I sea trialed had the 125 Yanmar and I would consider as a 10 to 12 knot boat max--probably better suited for the 8 knot to 10 knot speed range. There is not a lot of difference in the performance of the 100 and the 125 Yanmar (which was discontinued because of emissions issues).

The 150 Cummins definately will cruise in the 15+ knot range. The Cummins seems quieter, and in the long run would have better resale value. I would choose the 150 over the 130, although they are basically the same block.

Both are great boats. My only criticism major criticism of the early boats was the noise level of the genset. Hopefully that has been resolved.