installing my own electronics

View previous topic :: View next topic  
gary allen

City/Region: Santa Rosa
State or Province: CA
C-Dory Year: 2004
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Rosy B
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:45 am    Post subject: installing my own electronics Reply with quote

I'm thinking about installing my own electronics system on my new cruiser. What I'm leaning toward now is the Furuno 1723C Navnet setup with radar, chartplotter, and GPS/fishfinder interface. And the VHF radio and antenna. I'm not an electrician, although I worked as a carpenter for several years. My son-in-law is an electrician. Any special secrets here, common stumbling blocks for those without boat electronics experience? Any advice? Should we leave it to the professionals?

Thanks,

Gary
TyBoo

City/Region: Warrenton
State or Province: OR
C-Dory Year: 1996
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruise Ship
Vessel Name: TyBoo
Photos: TyBoo
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gary - I'm no electrician, either, but I would do it myself in a heartbeat. Especially if all the wire ends have plugs. The Garmin I stuck in my boat had a dozen or so little bitty wires that had to be connected to each other using a color code scheme. I had to ask for help on the colors (somewhat colorblind), but the instructions were plenty clear. It all worked when I got done, with no smoke.

But that's just me. I would not, however, do a major install like that on someone else's boat, although I would be willing to help. PatA, with his self-deprecating wit, would tell you that by all means you should hire a pro. But that's just Pat. He has great talents in other areas that I, for example, could not match. (That is said from experience - I tried tangling with a city attorney a couple times. Failed miserably. And I was even right!)