The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Widespread Blistering of Hull
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> Hull, Deck and Fittings
View previous topic :: View next topic  
carpediemvz

City/Region: Chicago
State or Province: IL
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Funky Dory
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:05 pm    Post subject: Widespread Blistering of Hull Reply with quote

My 2006 22' Cruiser has developed blisters in the gelcoat over most of the area below the waterline. In speaking with the factory, I have been told that this is due to keeping the boat in the water during the boating season without bottom paint (in Lake Michigan). I'm new to boating, but it seems to me that boats are intended to be in water and I find nothing in the published C-Dory user info advising that bottom paint is necessary. Two questions ... (1) any other owners with this problem, and (2) what's needed to repair this damage?
jkidd

City/Region: Northern, Utah
State or Province: UT
C-Dory Year: 2007
Vessel Name: Voyager
Photos: Voyager (JK)
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just do a search on blistering you should find plenty to read. If the boat is going to be in the water for long periods it does need bottom paint.

Sea Wolf

City/Region: Redding
State or Province: CA
C-Dory Year: 1987
Vessel Name: Sea Wolf
Photos: Sea Wolf
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We discussed this he other day, it was the second of Two Questions.

Let us know if you still have questions.

Joe. Teeth Thumbs Up

Sea Wolf, C-Brat #31
Lake Shasta, California

"Most of my money I spent on boats and women. The rest I squandered'. " -Annonymous
thataway

City/Region: Pensacola
State or Province: FL
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruiser
Vessel Name: thataway
Photos: Thataway