The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Choice of anchor
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> All C-Dorys, All The Time
View previous topic :: View next topic  
spiker

City/Region: wading river
State or Province: NY
C-Dory Year: 2007
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Celtic - C
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:45 pm    Post subject: Choice of anchor Reply with quote

Hello everyone, I'm looking for a little input again; as I am new to this C-Dory world. I was wondering what the consensus is for choice of anchor on a 22 Cruiser. I am from Long Island and predominantly boat on the South Shore which means I anchor in MUD!!! I have used a Danforth with good results on my last 2 boats but they were bigger and alot heavier than the C-Dory. I have heard alot about the Delta plow anchor but have heard mixed reviews on how it holds in mud. The bow roller looks pretty small on the 22 and it doesn't look like it would take a heavy Danforth. I did not have great results with a Fortress anchor on my 250 Searay so I was a little leary of trying that again. Also what length chain have you used with your anchors 4' - 5' or more?
Thanks for any assistance,
Spiker
Jeff Brigner

State or Province: TN
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruiser
Vessel Name: C-Pearl
Photos: C-Pearl
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:14 pm    Post subject: anchor Reply with quote

Check out slideanchor.com
I don't have one yet but it is suppose to hold well in all conditions and is compact.
JamesTXSD

City/Region: from island boy to desert dweller
State or Province: AZ
Vessel Name: "Wild Blue" (sold 9/14)
Photos: Wild Blue
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greetings Spiker and welcome aboard.