The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Regarding Yamaha80's and rusted fuel sending units

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> All C-Dorys, All The Time
View previous topic :: View next topic  
djnward

City/Region: Bellingham
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 1999
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: HobbEs
Photos: HobbEs
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:16 pm    Post subject: Regarding Yamaha80's and rusted fuel sending units Reply with quote

Well fellow C Dory owners. I’m new to large, fuel injected outboards and have learned a few things that I thought I'd pass on. Hopefully it will help someone as much as this site has helped me.
I recently purchased “Cappie”, a 1999 C Dory with a 2001 Yamaha 80HP. There were two problems…one I caught while purchasing it (and which the previous owner made good) and another which is evidently a common problem with Yamahas. BOTH had the SAME SYMPTOMS.
Firstly, the two fuel tank sending units were replaced in 2001 when the boat was converted from a two stroke. By the time I bought the boat, they were considerably rusted and had seriously contaminated the two fuel tanks; one much worse than the other. Small red particles could be seen in the fuel which lead to blocked jets. The previous owner seemed maticulomaticulous taken very good care of the boat but had no idea of the contamination.With one tank considerably worse than the other, I'm lead to believe that either that sending unit was faulty or that the tank with the worse unit was empty more of the time (exposing it to the air). Either way, the replacements are just metal also…and not stainless. I’m surprised they aren’t plastic. Actually I haven’t researched them extensively so maybe some of them are. I went with what was on hand for now.