View previous topic :: View next topic  
JamesTXSD

City/Region: from island boy to desert dweller
State or Province: AZ
C-Dory Year: 2007
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruiser
Vessel Name: "Wild Blue" (sold 9/14)
Photos: Wild Blue
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:40 pm    Post subject: A question about bottom paint... Reply with quote

Wild Blue goes in tomorrow for bottom paint. I have used CSC Extra on our other boats with good results; usually two years before they needed touching up. My neighbor is a boat builder, and recommends Aquaguard, a water-based antifouling ablative paint. I have no experience with it, as it seems to be popular on the east and west coasts, but relatively unknown on the "South" coast. Less expensive than the CSC, and easier to handle and ship (not considered hazardous cargo).

Our shallow water and warm temps make for some aggressive bottom critters; I have tried to keep up with it, scraping and scrubbing regularly... but the last time, one of the barnacles tried to wrestle me down and hold me under. Thank goodness Joan was there with a large club to stun it while I scrambled back into the boat! Wink

So, any C-Brats have experience with Aquaguard? The instructions say that no epoxy barrier coat is necessary (though there is a primer). Thanks in advance, friends.

And one more quick question. We have always flown a US flag from the proper places on our sailboats. With the camperback, there is no place to put a flag on the stern. Where and how are you folks mounting a flag on your boats? If it works out to go to the Bahamas this spring, we'll need a place to put a Q flag and courtesy flag.

Otherwise, we are pretty well good to go after the first of the year. We're going to be doing some non-boat travel in December, (Arizona and Maui) so I won't have much to post about... gonna need some tales here from the folks who are C-Dorying to keep me going!

Again, I appreciate any advice from the knowledge bank here.

Best wishes,
Jim B.

Old Jim