The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Fiberglass recommendations

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pburk

City/Region: San Juans
State or Province: WA
Photos: Pburk
PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2024 10:42 am    Post subject: Fiberglass recommendations Reply with quote

Hey all,

I have a separate thread going about a slow going core replacement, but wanted to see if I could get any specific recommendations about the fiberglass product I should use. Two layers of 1708? Something else? I have no experience with fiberglass and am covering a pretty large areaI (all the way from the berth to the stern), so something pretty simple and durable would be my goal. Would like to stick with the West Systems epoxy and any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Philip
Salish_Explorer

City/Region: Kingston
C-Dory Model: 16 Angler
Photos: Salish Explorer
PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2024 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would use either a medium weight epoxy -compatible roving or one of the double -bias roving/mat combo products (roving on one side, mat on the other), mat-side up to minimize print-through. I believe but an not sure that Biaxial mat like 1708 is probably going to be somewhere between mat and roving, strength-wise. Of course, using straight mat would be fast but not as strong.

I suspect you'll get a number of good answers here - many ways to skin the cat.

You might grab a copy of West System's fiberglass boat building manual. It's like five bucks and will have illustrated answers for most of this stuff that will be much more authoritative than what you'll get on a forum.

Salish_Explorer

PostPosted: Sun Apr 07, 2024 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote