View previous topic :: View next topic  
pcg

City/Region: Sherwood
State or Province: OR
C-Dory Year: 1999
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: C-Quest
Photos: pcg
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2023 6:29 pm    Post subject: Looking for negative feedback on my helm design Reply with quote

I’ve had plenty of time to think through the helm design for my 22’ Cruiser restoration and would like to offer it up for criticism before I start modifying the fiberglass at the helm. Keep in mind that I’m an engineering nerd so there will likely be things about this design you don’t like and that’s expected. However, I’m looking for mistakes, or things I’ve overlooked. I’m new to this and I very much value the opinions of the experienced C-Dory captains here.

Referring to the photos below, the first photo shows the complete helm, but somewhere along the way it gets resized so that it's not possible to read switch labels. To remedy this I broke the drawing into upper and lower portions, and hopefully the switch labels are readable if you zoom in.

Navigation and steering aids are on top, beginning with Garmin chart plotter that sits on top of the helm, with room for an iPad to the right. Above the steering wheel, from left to right, are the autopilot display, a small display for engine gauges (can be an iPhone running an app), a simple depth gauge, and a controller for Dometic trim tabs. Below and to the right of the trim tab controller is a 12V outlet (can hold two USB ports) and the cable for the wired windlass remote.

Non-navigation items on lower left are the heater thermostat, and ON/Off switches for the propane solenoid, heater, fridge, fresh water pump, wash down pump, and a switch reserved for future use (maybe a watermaker).