View previous topic :: View next topic  
paherrmann

City/Region: Bellingham
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2007
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Bucket List
Photos: Biganuf
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2023 2:43 pm    Post subject: Flushing a 1999 Honda BF40 with Muffs Reply with quote

Hello fellow C-Dory owners,

This is my first year storing my boat in saltwater, and I have found it more challenging to access the motor for maintenance. I'm looking for a more convenient solution to flush my 1999 Honda BF40 engine without having to "swim" to the lower unit (figuratively speaking, of course!). I've been considering tilting the motor up and using muffs while it's still in the water.

Has anyone tried this approach before? If so, were you able to effectively flush the engine without causing any harm or complications? I'd appreciate any feedback, tips, or precautions from those who have experience with this method.

Additionally, I have a question regarding the additional water intake mentioned in the Honda manual. The muffs cover the side water intakes, but the manual indicates there is another water intake as well. Here's a photo of the intake in question: Honda BF40 Water Intakes photo

Could anyone with experience flushing this specific model year please let me know if it is necessary to tape over the additional water intake during the flushing process, or if using the muffs alone is sufficient?

Thank you in advance for your help and advice!
Peter & Judy

City/Region: Olds
State or Province: AB
C-Dory Year: 2005
Vessel Name: Mistaya
Photos: Mistaya
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2023 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote