View previous topic :: View next topic  
markm

City/Region: Clinton
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Otter
Photos: Otter
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2023 7:43 pm    Post subject: Twin Honda 50 feedback needed Reply with quote

We are repowering our 22 cruiser and going from Honda 40s to Honda 50s. I would love to hear from those that have done just this and get your thoughts. We have also considered the Suzuki 50s and 60s but I think at this time the Honda is winning out mainly due to local service.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
C-Green

City/Region: Houghton
State or Province: MI
C-Dory Year: 2002
Vessel Name: C-Green
Photos: C-Green
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2023 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no experience with that switch. I do have 40 twins, are extremely happy with them and my understanding of the 50's from discussions with Les (RIP) is that 50's will have reduced performance in midrange compared to 40's and will only get you one mph (or so) extra top speed at WOT. So his advice was why spend the extra money when you mostly run at midrange. So if you run usually at higher speeds, I would look at twins 60's that at least one Brat has installed and was extremely happy with.

MTCW, Jay
thataway

City/Region: Pensacola
State or Province: FL
C-Dory Year: 2007
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruiser
Vessel Name: thataway
Photos: Thataway
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2023 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The best Posts on upgrading Honda outboards:are this series by Jay on Hunkydory.. He gives his rational for going from 40 to 60, rather than 50. It is worth a read before deciding on your coarse.
Thisaway 2006 22' CDory November 2011 to May 2018
Caracal 18 140 Suzuki 2007 to present
Thataway TomCat 255 150 Suzukis June 2006 thru August 2011
C Pelican; 1992, 22 Cruiser, 2002 thru 2006
Frequent Sea; 2003 C D 25, 2007 thru 2009
KA6PKB
Home port: Pensacola FL
markm