The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

What size hatch for anchor locker

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> Hull, Deck and Fittings
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pcg

City/Region: Sherwood
State or Province: OR
C-Dory Year: 1999
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: C-Quest
Photos: pcg
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2023 1:24 am    Post subject: What size hatch for anchor locker Reply with quote

The anchor locker on my 1999 22' Cruiser is open to the berth area. I'd like to close it off and add a hatch as I understand the newer models have. Since I have yet to finish my project boat and put it in the water, I have no experience using it and don't have a clue how large the access opening to the locker should be. I'll be installing a horizontal windlass if that makes a difference.

I'd like suggestions for the size of the opening. As large as possible? Or would that be too big?
Also, what is the end of the rode secured to? There is nothing in my locker for securing the rode.

Thank you.

C-Wolfe

City/Region: Anchorage
State or Province: AK
C-Dory Year: 2006
Vessel Name: C-Wolfe
Photos: C-Wolfe
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2023 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a SS eye bolt attached to the back side of the U bolt on the bow (The one use for the trailer winch). If that is not an option for you, you could add a d-ring somewhere.
As for the cover, I also wanted to cover it up when I first got the boat but I'm getting use to it open and I also find that it is nice to get in there to spread the rode as it tend to pile up as you retrieve it.

sparkle; Ericson 25 CB 2008-2012
Sculpin; Drascombe Drifter 2005-2008
thataway

City/Region: Pensacola
State or Province: FL
C-Dory Year: 2007
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruiser
Vessel Name: thataway
Photos: Thataway
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2023 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote