The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

First Time Power Boater - needing advice on a 22

View previous topic :: View next topic  
The Other Nathan

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2021 1:23 am    Post subject: First Time Power Boater - needing advice on a 22 Reply with quote

Greetings,

As a first time buyer, I am looking for advice for what to look for and consider when purchasing a used C-dory.

My name is Nathan and I have been a dinghy sailer most of my life. For a stint I owned a 20’ trailer sailer. I haven’t owned a power boat but for the past few years my wife and I have had a membership in a boat club that gives us access to runabouts, pontoons and fishing boats so I am familiar with the operation/handling of power craft. That said, I am a novice when it comes to the maintenance and/or systems that aren’t sail rigging related.

I have been lurking on the site for awhile and recently was in Superior, WI where by chance I saw my first C-Dory in person. It was on a trailer in the Ace Hardware lot. And seeing in person what I had been ogling at online for months flipped a switch in me. Fast forward a week, and that same boat was just posted to Craigslist. https://minneapolis.craigslist.org/hnp/boa/d/duluth-1996-dory-22/7368102869.html

The post is for a ‘96 22. The engine hours seem low (but again being new to this I am not sure how low is good or if hrs are easily forged). The gel coat is stated to be faded but not sure if that is an easy fix or not.

Anything about the mid-90s boats to consider? I am assuming the the stove may need servicing and soft spots are likely in the deck.
What is the serviceable life of these boats?
Does the price seem fair? It seems to be on the lighter side for equipment/upgrades. But it does look clean.
Any concerns with it not having electric trim tabs?
Also, the posting makes it seem that the seller is not familiar with the bot or hasn’t operated it. Any thoughts on that?