View previous topic :: View next topic  
pcg

City/Region: Sherwood
State or Province: OR
C-Dory Year: 1999
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: C-Quest
Photos: pcg
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 12:14 am    Post subject: Why so many radios? Reply with quote

I'm new to cruising so am naive about radios. I see lots of pictures of boats that have appear to have two or three radios mounted on the ceiling. Why is there a need for more than one high power VHF at the helm? (I understand the value of having a portable VHF in a ditch bag.)
garyf

City/Region: Lincoln
State or Province: CA
C-Dory Year: 1991
Vessel Name: C-Story
Photos: C-Story
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 1:46 am    Post subject: Re: Why so many radios? Reply with quote

pcg wrote:
I'm new to cruising so am naive about radios. I see lots of pictures of boats that have appear to have two or three radios mounted on the ceiling. Why is there a need for more than one high power VHF at the helm? (I understand the value of having a portable VHF in a ditch bag.)

I'm sure there's more than one answer to this very valid question - but in my case at least, they aren't all Marine VHF radios. A fair number of cruisers are also ham radio operators (me included) and one or more of those radios are ham radios. That gives us redundancy for multiple means and channels of communication and in some cases longer range. VHF marine is line of sight that only works over a few miles depending on conditions and height of the antenna at each end of the conversation. Some ham radio bands can communicate significantly further.

'08 Yamaha 90
KC3PO
hardee

City/Region: Sequim
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2005
Vessel Name: Sleepy-C
Photos: SleepyC
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2021 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paul Good question and as Gary mentioned there is more than one answer.