The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

C-Dory 22 boat building history when buying a used boat

View previous topic :: View next topic  
RICK57

City/Region: SW FLORIDA WATERS
State or Province: FL
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2021 11:00 pm    Post subject: C-Dory 22 boat building history when buying a used boat Reply with quote

Hello
This is my first time on C-Brats. I am looking at several C-Dory 22 boats and want to buy one soon. Used boats 20 + years old are selling around $35K, some more or less when I find one.
My question is are there any years of production in the history of building the C-Dory 22 cruiser that workmanship was not so good OR are most all of the older boats from 1995 on up a good soundly built boat. Just looking at the outside do not always tell the whole story.
Thanks for any information about the history of building these fine little boats.
Rick57

-Waypoint-

City/Region: Jensen Beach, Florida
C-Dory Year: 1998
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Waypoint
Photos: Waypoint
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2021 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe in my opinion, that the boats built before 1998 are the best value for the money. Even if it needs a trailer and a new engine. I like the real fiberglass aft hatch covers over the battery compartments and the plywood interior that can be modified very easily. Unlike the molded newer models. Not a spider crack to be found anywhere on the boat. The C-Dory is the best vessel I have ever owned and operated. (I am a professional Mariner, operated ships over 800 ft., and have owned much larger boats) Just go get one and it will be a very fun seaworthy vessel. Don’t over think it and enjoy!
thataway

City/Region: Pensacola
C-Dory Year: 2007
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruiser
Vessel Name: thataway
Photos: Thataway
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2021 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote