The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Question of water damage to cockpit side of transom

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> Cockpit and Accessories
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jim406

City/Region: Friday Harbor
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Curmudgeon
Photos: jim406
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 1:32 am    Post subject: Question of water damage to cockpit side of transom Reply with quote

Looking for some help trying to figure out what I am seeing and whether I need to be concerned about this.

I am new to C-Brats and boating. I am looking at a 1993 22' C-Dory Cruiser to purchase. I had a marine survey done today. The surveyor sent the picture that's in my album. He said it was plywood covering the cockpit side of the transom. He doesn't know why it's there. It sustained water damage. He used his moisture meter and tapping from the other side of the transom and He said all seemed well. But he couldn't get access to the side seen because of a battery and fuel tank. It makes me uneasy but since I know very little about boats thought I'd see what you all think. Thank you for any ideas you might have.
PaulNBriannaLynn

City/Region: Fort White
State or Province: FL
C-Dory Year: 2007
Vessel Name: TBD
Photos: Lorelei
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would be concerned. I would want to take a closer look at this inside transom before making a decision.

Well I don't think I've ever inspected an 1993 specifically, there shouldn't be bare plywood in the bilge area like is shown in your picture. My guess is it may be someones attempt at reinforcing the transom. Perhaps the transom is soft so this was to make it rigid.

Whatever it is, it can be fixed. Just make sure you're not paying top dollar for a boat you might need to replace the transom or at least do structural repairs on.