The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Gotta be a short!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> Electrical and Wiring
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DSigmond

City/Region: Bainbridge Island
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2007
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:00 pm    Post subject: Gotta be a short! Reply with quote

My 22 Curiser is fairly new to me, and I'm a really happy newbie.

The two year old batteries would go flat in 48 hours, so I plugged in the shore power, everything seems turned off, so I'll let the charger "float," and all is well.
Then the start batttery got really hot when I'm away for a week. I suspect a bad cell, refill the water, I can stall for a bit.
Came back to the boat, unplugged shore power, switched the Perko to All, 5 minutes pass, and smoke is roiling out the battery box. The Perko is deep on the far side of the battery -- inaccessible, but I got the lead on the battery unscrewed and off. Whew.
The Perko melted at both contacts. #2 wire to battery melted all the insulation, nothing else!. No char or melting or apparent heat anywhere else. Other battery is fine.
What happened? What's the circuit? What's the ground?
bridma

City/Region: Comox
State or Province: BC
C-Dory Year: 2009
Vessel Name: Nomad
Photos: Nomad
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not attempt any fix that can endanger life or my boat unless I am 100% sure I know what I am doing.
Me personally, I would bring in a marine electrician, check the system and change both batteries. Then sleep assured that all is well as you start from day one with your new to you boat.

Martin.
Sea Wolf

City/Region: Redding
State or Province: CA
C-Dory Year: 1987
Vessel Name: Sea Wolf
Photos: Sea Wolf
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote