The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Line Caught in Prop

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> General Technical Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
louxwe

City/Region: Niceville
State or Province: FL
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: C-Falcon
Photos: C-Falcon
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2019 11:40 am    Post subject: Line Caught in Prop Reply with quote

So I am new to outboard motors and wanted to get some help here. I have a Honda 75 and on my way back into dock I noticed that there was a foot long piece of mooring line wrapped around the prop. The engine was still running and I am not sure exactly how long it was like that. Most likely earlier in the day while I was single handed trying to tie off next to a bridge to fish it probably fell in the water and got tangled but it just ripped the nylon rope. I don't recall the engine ever stopping, or hanging up, so not sure how long the line was in there. I cut off the 1 ft long length that was still in there, but I couldn't quite get all of it out. Seems like friction/heat had caused some of it to melt a bit and got down into the area between the prop and the rest of the engine. The prop turned easily and I just drove on in to the boat lift. I was planning on taking off the prop (never done this on an outboard) and just making sure all of the line is out. Any advice on how to do this and also what other damage should I be looking for?