replace radar/navigation

View previous topic :: View next topic  
johnd

City/Region: DEMING
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: NOTAYOT
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:46 pm    Post subject: replace radar/navigation Reply with quote

I took my recently aquired C-Dory 22 cruiser, Notayot, to E.Q. Harbor for a few things, and Stan the Electronic Man from there sent me this email:

"I’m the bearer of bad tidings today. The radar is not functional & the issue is defective circuitry in the C-80 display. In navigation mode the C-80 is unstable, the cursor makes random jumps on the screen. The VHF appears to operate normally although it is the same vintage & probably no longer service either." STAN

I have no understanding or experience with these systems. Being as this is a system from 2005/2006 do i completley change systmes, maybe even brands, this is Raymarine, I am not impressed that they decide when to no longer service a unit rather than let the customers decide, however, that said,
I do not understand the old sytem or the differences in the new ones.

I did not find any information on my search of this site for current information on newer systems.

I would appreciate recomndations on what to install now. I will be boating inthe San Jauns fishing, crabbing, etc.

thanks, johnd

thataway

City/Region: Pensacola
State or Province: FL
C-Dory Year: 2007
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruiser
Vessel Name: thataway
Photos: Thataway
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There have been a number of changes and upgrades in Radar, chart plotters and depth sounders.

All major companies make excellent units. Also I doubt that any service 13 year old plotters--there may be some private technicians who do so.