The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

How much boating experience before you bought your C-Dory?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Esmi2

City/Region: San Luis Obispo, CA
State or Province: CA
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 10:46 pm    Post subject: How much boating experience before you bought your C-Dory? Reply with quote

I am having trouble getting off the fence with regard to buying my first C-Dory, and I wonder how others have made the leap.

Specifically in my case
• I am a novice boater (kayaks, paddleboards, canoe).
• Probably the acquisition and operating costs of a 22' Cruiser will not make a significant difference in my financial well being.

Over the past 18 months I have found, reviewed, and negotiated on, three boats that looked to be appropriate to my needs and good values. But in each case, I let them get away.

Tell me your story. What was the lead up to your purchase like?
Brewkid

City/Region: Whidbey Is
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2008
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: SCALLYWAG
Photos: Scallywag
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My wife got tired of me spending my life on Yachtworld. Sometimes you just know if you have salt in your blood, and if so, the search will be endless. At least with a C-dory, if you find it's not your thing, the resell value is amazing! I love my decision to take the leap and hopefully you will too. In the end, it's just a choice, you'll like it or you won't. Happy hunting!

P.S. Don't sweat the experience, it will come with time. Start slow and don't push it, and when you do remember, "calm seas never made a good sailor". We've all made decisions and pushed a little harder than we should have.

John
Scallywag
colbysmith

City/Region: Madison
State or Province: WI
C-Dory Year: 2009
C-Dory Model: 25 Cruiser
Vessel Name: C-Traveler
Photos: C-Traveler and Midnight-Flyer