The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

16 Angler and the Pacific Ocean

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> All C-Dorys, All The Time
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Captain Casey

City/Region: Guadalupe
State or Province: CA
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:29 pm    Post subject: 16 Angler and the Pacific Ocean Reply with quote

Hi all,

Man have I done a lot of reading lately. The internet and friends have no shortage of opinions that must be dug through to find facts. I'm new to C Dorys but not new to boats or the water. I've located a like new 16 angler that I'm about ready to pull the trigger on. It would be enjoyed by me, my girlfriend and our young son. On lakes, Bays and some trips to open ocean to fish rock cod (no more then 5 miles off shore). I love the looks of the C Dorys as well as the construction and how economical they are. I've narrowed it down to what I think is my one and only question...how is this boat going to handle swells? I'm getting mixed opinions from friends about the boat being a Dory hull and want to hear opinions from those who actually run C Dorys. I know it's 16 feet, I don't want a 19 or a 22. The simplicity of owning, running and maintaining the 16 has me very attracted to it. I know I will have to pick and choose my days depending on the weather. My other half wouldn't want to be out in the ocean in bad swell regardless of the boat she was on. We have a local bay and lakes to fish on the weekends the swells are up. I just want to be sure if I go out on a day with 4 foot swells at 15 seconds I won't be upset. Thank you all for the wealth of knowledge that is this forum and any information you have on this topic.

Casey Smile Thumbs Up

T.R. Bauer

City/Region: Wasilla
State or Province: AK
C-Dory Year: 1993
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: C-Whisperer
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote