The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Cape Cruiser inspecton port install
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> General Technical Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
choganoochy@yahoo.com

City/Region: Gustavus
State or Province: AK
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 23 Venture
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 10:33 pm    Post subject: Cape Cruiser inspecton port install Reply with quote

Howdy. I'm a newbie.
I now own a 2006 Cape Cruiser and want to install inspection ports. I believe there is water in there under the deck. Does anyone know where to safely install them? Cockpit,cabin, vberth. I don't know exactly where to cut. I don't want to cut over a cross support or something. What size port would be best and what is the best sealant method to use.
Thanks
Larry
NORO LIM

City/Region: Olympia
State or Province: WA
Vessel Name: NORO LIM (sold 12/12/14)
Photos: NORO LIM
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Larry,

I owned a 2006 Cape Cruiser. (Absolutely fantastic boat!) I installed three inspection ports: One just forward of the cabin door; one just aft of the cabin door; and one between the fuel tanks, just forward of the "bilge." I believe they were four inch plates. I cut all three holes on the center line and did not encounter any structural pieces. The forward portion of the cockpit sole had foam beneath it. There was nothing but empty space beneath the cabin sole, and beneath the aft portion of the cockpit sole. With all three ports, I undercut the opening for the inspection plate and the holes for the mounting screws, and filled the created voids between the fiberglass sandwich with epoxy. I believe I used 5200 as the sealant.