View previous topic :: View next topic  
ThumbsUp

City/Region: Reno
State or Province: NV
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Thumbs Up
Photos: Thumbs Up
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 12:11 am    Post subject: Upgrading Batteries in Starboard Lazarette Reply with quote

After the new Windlass was installed, it became apparent that my existing battery setup was not up to snuff, so I am in the process installing new batteries, blue sea relay and switch, waterproof charger and BMV 702. It's a tight squeeze but everything fits and is secure. I am a newbie so any advice and direction is greatly appreciated. System will be 12v mainly because the 24v system seems complicated. I'm trying to keep it simple and not mess anything up.

New Equipment:
1. Three 24 series optima batteries. Two in parallel for the house, one dedicated start.
2. Blue Star relay with switch
3. 3 fuse blocks mounted on starboard, two 80amps for relay, one 60 amp for helm station.
4. Waterproof charger - NOCO Genius GEN2 20 Amp 2-Bank Waterproof Smart On-Board Battery Charger
5. Common ground
6. Victron Energy BMV-702 battery monitor

Am I going in the right direction with this setup? Can I run a BMV 702 battery monitor with the Blue sea system?

I should probably upgrade the factory lazarette cover to minimize water intrusion. Any suggestions for covers?

I still can't figure out how to post pics in the forum, sorry! I did put several pictures in my album of the setup.

When ThumbsUp is finally ready, I look forward to meeting up with the Cbrats. First and second rounds will be ON ME Beer You guys have been a tremendous help and I would be lost without you guys. Can't thank you enough. Really wanted to do Powell this year and meet Bob, Sunbeam and everyone else but I don't think she'll be ready in time.

Thanks for helping me build my dream boat Smile

Thumbs Up