View previous topic :: View next topic  
CAVU

City/Region: Spokane
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2002
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: CAVU
Photos: CAVU
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:50 pm    Post subject: Navigating in Fog Reply with quote

I just returned from a one month long fishing trip to Ucluelet. I have been doing this trip for about 15 years. This involves boating in big water and often in fog. What I am about to discuss is for sure just my opinion and it is what I elect to do now at this stage in my life. You may have a completely different opinion and I hope to hear many opinions.
I don't have radar on my boat and it is a conscious decision not to have it. I do have a radar reflector and hope it helps. I go to Vancouver Is to have fun and relax. In my opinion running in truly thick fog where visibility would require that you watch and monitor your radar would not be relaxing. With two people aboard and trolling on the offshore banks, when you get a hook-up, who is watching for other vessels? A few seconds of inattention could negate hours of diligent radar watching.
For many years while I was still working and had deadlines and limited fishing time, I would go out in any weather and fish. Now I am a lot older and my personal limits have changed. Now I evaluate the visibility and if I don't think it would allow me to see and avoid another vessel, I turn around and go home. I always fish with another fully qualified partner whom I trust to diligently help with both navigation and watching for another vessel (BTW this includes frequent checks of your six o'clock). You could just as easily be overtaken from the rear by a much faster boat with a skipper who isn't paying attention. I realize that I can start my day with good visibility and have the fog roll in, but I feel that I greatly increase my safety by only boating in adequate visibility. I would really be interested in others thoughts on this subject.

Sneaks