The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

TomCat 24 vs. TomCat 255?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> All C-Dorys, All The Time
View previous topic :: View next topic  
trisailing

City/Region: Boston
State or Province: MA
PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:20 pm    Post subject: TomCat 24 vs. TomCat 255? Reply with quote

I am a newbie to power cats. I am still sailing around in a catamaran, but I am interested in perhaps changing over to power. I understand that there have been improvements in the TomCat 255, but I can't seem to find what they are aside from being shorter. The issue is that the TomCat 24 is listed as somewhere around 4000 lbs. while the 255 is about 2000 lbs. more. I have a 1/2 ton truck that will haul a 4000 lb boat, but it won't haul a 6000 lb. boat very effectively (with gear and trailer, it seems to be more like 8000 lbs.)
Can someone please explain what the design differences are inside. My wife and I tend to spend weeks at a time cruising, and I would like to know what the trade-offs are between the 2 boats. Thanks in advance for any info.
rogerbum

City/Region: Kenmore
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2008
C-Dory Model: 255 Tomcat
Vessel Name: Meant to be
Photos: SeaDNA
PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:29 pm    Post subject: Re: TomCat 24 vs. TomCat 255? Reply with quote

trisailing wrote:
I am a newbie to power cats. I am still sailing around in a catamaran, but I am interested in perhaps changing over to power. I understand that there have been improvements in the TomCat 255, but I can't seem to find what they are aside from being shorter. The issue is that the TomCat 24 is listed as somewhere around 4000 lbs. while the 255 is about 2000 lbs. more. I have a 1/2 ton truck that will haul a 4000 lb boat, but it won't haul a 6000 lb. boat very effectively (with gear and trailer, it seems to be more like 8000 lbs.)