View previous topic :: View next topic  
hardee

City/Region: Sequim
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2005
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Sleepy-C
Photos: SleepyC
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:19 pm    Post subject: Propping Twins -- for single or twin power Reply with quote

This discussion came up in another thread and it is a totally new concept to me so I am moving this from another thread. I am curious about this because it my understanding was that WOT was WOT whether it was a single or half of a twin set up.

Quote:
Quote:
hardee wrote:
I didn't know that there is a difference between a prop and a "twin prop". I thought they were propped for the size of motor (hp) and the max RPM attained at wide open throttle (WOT). Can't really see how my twin 40's could be propped for a single, or in the reprop process, there was nothing mentioned about "are this running as a single on the boat or are they working as one of a pair of twins".

I'm not a pro, but the way I understand propping motors, there would be a difference. I may not be able to explain it correctly (or may not even be correct), but here is what I believe:

Any engine has a specified WOT RPM. If you can attain that RPM at WOT, then by definition you are running the engine at levels that will not "lug" the engine (which is bad for it). Instead you are running at a certain percentage of the available horsepower (think about running your car at 30 mph in 5th gear vs. doing the same in 2nd gear; I think running a twin at high speed alone on a "twin" prop would be more like the former).

If you are pushing a light boat (or have a large engine for the boat size), then you would use "X" prop to power it (determined by going to WOT and figuring out which prop gets you to the mfgr. stated top RPM). If you are pushing a heavy boat (or have a small engine for the boat size), then a different prop would get you to that sweet spot. By definition, the same prop would not really do it for both extremes.