King Crab
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bearbait

City/Region: North Pole
State or Province: AK
C-Dory Year: 1991
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:17 pm    Post subject: King Crab Reply with quote

Hi, This is my first time posting on this site, thanks everyone for the info I've garnered from reading through the archives. Now on to the question. This summer I'm taking my c-dory to Haines and travel down into the country around juneau. Can anyone give me any info on finding and catching king crab? What depths, what time of year is best, are they scattered all over or are there specific areas they are concentrated? I'll be bringing a dungenus pot also but I really want to catch a few king crab. Thanks
Chivita

City/Region: Hansville
State or Province: WA
C-Dory Year: 2003
Vessel Name: Chivita
Photos: Chivita
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Bearbait!

Not sure on the exact location for your King Crab, but the fisherfolk around here tell me that the pickings around Juneau are pretty slim. People are spending hours in that neck of the woods to catch what takes minutes in the Sitka area. You might want to adjust your travel plans accordingly. If you do make it to Sitka, look me up. I can get you a few suggestions!

"Chivita" Dave
Chivita

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bearbait

The local fishhead says to try Hoonah Bay, about 45 miles northwest of Sitka!
Bearbait

City/Region: North Pole
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I'm not sure where we'll go after Juneau. We may head up to Hoonah. I spend most of my time in PWS but I want to see something different and get a few crabs, which we're not allowed to get in PWS.
lyle-t

City/Region: Olympia
C-Dory Model: 16 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Scorpio
Photos: Scorpio