The C-Brats Forum Index
HomeForumsMy TopicsCalendarEvent SignupsMemberlistOur C-DorysThe Brat MapPhotos

Honda 50 hp trim/tilt not working
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The C-Brats Forum Index -> Motor Control Systems
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mattk

City/Region: placerville
State or Province: CA
C-Dory Year: 1984
C-Dory Model: 16 Angler
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:49 pm    Post subject: Honda 50 hp trim/tilt not working Reply with quote

Hello. I'm new to the C-Dory world having purchased a 1984 Angler 16 with a 30 hp Honda motor.
I recently bought a 1999 Honda 50 hp with a trim/tilt that doesn't work.
I can hear a click when I hit either the remote or local switch. But don't get any motor sounds, I've disconnected the 2 prong fitting that goes to the unit and applied 12v to both blue and green wires (with the other end grounded) but no sounds.
I bought the motor thinking I could use my existing CMC power trim unit but it is too small for the 50 hp. A new t/t unit costs $1300.
Any thoughts? Or sources for used units.
Thanks for any guidance. Matt
Simplicity

City/Region: Chipley
State or Province: FL
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 23 Venture
Vessel Name: Simplicity
Photos: Simplicity
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matt-
You might try rapping the motor a time or two. If it works it's the brushes wearing out. That's what happened on my Yamaha 40. Good luck.

Alan
kennharriet

City/Region: Grangeville
State or Province: ID
C-Dory Year: 1999
C-Dory Model: 22 Cruiser
Vessel Name: Lochsa
Photos: Lochsa
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matt, I had the same problem with the tilt motor on my Honda BF75. I ordered a new one online for under $300 and replaced it. Not a difficult project. Before replacing with new, I took it to an auto electric shop and they rebuilt it for $40, but it failed again in short order.