View previous topic :: View next topic  
Casey

City/Region: The Villages(FL)
State or Province: FL
C-Dory Year: 2006
C-Dory Model: 23 Venture
Vessel Name: "Dessert 1st"
Photos: Dessert 1st
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:39 am    Post subject: Chartplotter Cartography - Comments.... Reply with quote

I'll begin the discussion with some comments about RayMarine, (actually C-Map) cartography....and hope tht others join-in with their evaluation(s) of various other products.

When we bought "Naknek," I studied the market, and opted for the Raymarine hsb2 interconnected system (RL70CRC). Previously, we had used a Garmin GPS III+ handheld for several years on another boat, and loved the performance, realiability, and ability to download pretty decent cartography via Garmin's MapSource CD.

When I chose the Raymarine system I was looking for genuine chartplotter capability that linked the radar, sounder, autopilot, etc. As for cartography, I chose the C-Map (the only other choice as I recall was Navionics). Although I've always liked Garmin products; BlueChart cartography simply wasn't an option on the Raymarine system.

After two years, and 170 hours, I am satisfied with the Raymarine system, but find myself wishing I could somehow access the Garmin BlueChart data. C-Map is "ok," but nothing spectacular and I honestly think BlueChart is better both in terms of quality and quantity of data. Sandy has a Garmin PDA (iQue 3600) that will read BlueChart data, so I sometimes use both the BlueChart and C-Map for head-to-head comparison. We bought the AK chips (C-Map and BlueChart) prior to our recent Inside Passage trip, and honestly think BlueChart IS better than C-Map (although is pains me to say that....). The BlueChart data is simply spectacular; C-Map is very workable, but (I think) falls somewhat short. Regrettably, while the PDA is a very good GPS, but is not a full featured chartplotter.